Glossaire

A

Actiparc

In the Spring of 2001, archaeologists from INRAP and the City of Arras began a 20-month project to excavate the site of this future business park, a zone covering over 300 hectares. Aware that they were excavating an area heavily marked by fortifications during the Great War (German frontlines), the scientific team decided to take these traces into equal consideration with all other forms of archaeological evidence. Over 6000 structures dating from the First World War were identified. Many of these were shell craters or backfilled trenches of little archaeological interest. However, some of the structures thus identified did provide invaluable information on the day-to-day life of soldiers (e.g. the handicraft workshop found in the German prisoners’ trench) and the way they dealt with their dead.

Go to top

B

Bucy-le-Long
On 8th February 1915, while inspecting a recently-completed communication trench (Laufgraben) on the front line, Captain E. Pehlemann, originally hailing from Spandau, came across a bronze torc. He ordered further inspections, which revealed the presence of numerous vases and skeletons. He entrusted the task of excavating this Gaulish cemetery to a young humanities student serving as a volunteer under his command, Hans Niggemann. Between 8th February and 8th April a total of 32 Celtic-era tombs were carefully, methodically excavated. During a period of leave away from the frontline, Private Niggemann produced a minutely detailed account of his excavation and ensured that the objects unearthed were correctly catalogued. The accuracy of his identification and dating of the artefacts is remarkable for this period. Captain Pehlemann also produced a report, which he passed on to his superiors in late March. Less than two weeks later all of the artefacts and accompanying documentation were transferred to the Royal Museum in Berlin. After the Armistice this collection was all but forgotten, then divided into several lots as a precautionary measure during the Second World War. Part of the collection was sent to Moscow (returned to East Berlin in the 1950s), with the rest relocated to the Museum für Ur-und Frühgeschicht, where it remains to this day.  The rest of this ancient cemetery, which originally contained around 350 tombs, was excavated in a series of digs between 1971 and 1994, following an incident causing extensive destruction in 1970.

Go to top

C

Châtelet-sur-Retourne
An archaeological dig was conducted in 2009 in the hamlet known as ‘Au-dessus du Clos’, on the outskirts of Châtelet-sur-Retourne in the south-west of the Ardennes département, 28 km north-east of Reims. This operation, conducted by a team from INRAP led by Yoann Rabasté, covered an area of some 14,439 m² earmarked for a new housing development. The excavations revealed a series of constructions dating from the period 1914-1918, corresponding to a German military air base established on the outskirts of the village, which served as a base for the rear lines. Surviving evidence of this camp included traces (foundation trenches) of large hangar-type structures. These structures were accompanied by a blockhaus bunker and an ammunition dump which yielded a considerable quantity of military artefacts, including Germane airplane parts, along with various animal remains indicating the presence of a butcher shop on the site.

Go to top

D

DRASSM 
The Department for sub-aquatic and submarine archaeological research (DRASSM) is responsible for the administrative and scientific management of the sub-aquatic and submarine archaeological heritage of all waters falling under French jurisdiction, from the Atlantic to the Pacific and the Indian Ocean to the Mediterranean, a total of almost 11 million km². Qualified to conduct all archaeological studies requiring the use of divers, the DRASSM is responsible for implementing the Heritage Code in all matters concerning maritime cultural assets. This latter term covers all items of prehistoric, archaeological, historical or artistic interest located in the maritime public domain. The DRASSM is based at the port facilities of L’Estaque, in Marseille.

Go to top

I

Inrap
The National Institute for Preventive Archaeological Research (INRAP) is a French Public Research Institution established by the Law of 17th January 2001 on preventive archaeology. INRAP is thus the successor to the National Association for Archaeological Excavations (AFAN) a public NPO. INRAP is placed under the joint control of the ministries for Culture and Research.

Go to top

J

Joseph Déchelette
French Archaeologist, born 8th January 1862 in Roanne (Loire), killed in action on 4th October 1914 at Vingré (now Nouvron-Vingré, in the Aisne département). A curator at the Museum of Fine Art and Archaeology in Roanne, Déchelette was the author of a 6-volume archaeological manual which was long considered a key reference work: The Manual of Prehistoric, Celtic and Gallo-Roman Archaeology, published between 1908 and 1914. By comparing the results of excavations conducted at Bibracte on Mont Beuvray, Manching in Bavaria, Stradonice in Bohemia and Velem-Zsent-Vid in Hungary, he was the first to reveal a widespread cultural continuity north of the Alps in the late Iron Age. Aged 52 at the outbreak of war and thus exempt from military service, he signed up voluntarily and was appointed captain in the reserves. He was called up to the front near the River Aisne along with the 298th Roanne infantry regiment in late September 1914. On 4th October 1914 he was killed in action during an offensive at Vingré.

Go to top

S

Semi-Dreadnought
A term used to refer to the first battleships produced in the early years of the twentieth century with secondary artillery capacities reduced in favour of very large calibre guns, nine inches (230mm) and above. The Dreadnought class of battleships was so named after the HMS Dreadnought, launched in Portsmouth in 1906 and armed with ten twelve-inch (305mm) guns.

Go to top

T

Third Battle of Artois
On 25th September 1915, the French forces gathered to the north of Arras attempted once again to break through the German lines. The main thrust of this offensive was focused on the section of the line running between the hilltop at Vimy and the village of Thélus. The success of the operation depended upon capturing this high ground, which stands overlooking the Lens coal field. The 50th and 126th Regiments of the 47th and 48th Brigades and the 24th Infantry Division were assigned to the sector at Thélus, but their numerous attempts to capture the village were to end in failure. Only the first two enemy lines were taken, and these only partially. The human cost of this battle, which lasted through the 26th and 27th September 1915, amounted to 139 killed, 370 wounded and 79 missing for the 50th Regiment and 130 killed, 510 wounded and 135 missing for the 126th. 

Go to top

Glossaire

A

Actiparc

Au printemps 2001, les archéologues de l’ Inrap et de la ville d’Arras ont été mobilisés pendant plus de 20 mois afin d’entreprendre des fouilles à l’emplacement d’un futur parc d’activités, sur une emprise de plus de 300 hectares. Conscients d’intervenir dans une zone très marquée par les aménagements de la Grande Guerre (lignes du front tenu par les Allemands), l’équipe scientifique a décidé d’intégrer dans son programme ces vestiges au même titre que n’importe quel autre témoignage archéologique. Plus de 6000 structures de la Première Guerre ont ainsi pu être appréhendées. Les nombreux impacts d’obus ou les tranchées comblées présentent peu d’intérêt sur le plan archéologique. En revanche, certaines structures ont fourni des informations de première importance sur la vie quotidienne des combattants (atelier d’artisanat de tranchée de prisonniers allemands) ou sur le traitement de leurs morts.n

Aller en haut

B

Bucy-le-Long
Le 8 février 1915, en inspectant une tranchée de communication (Laufgraben) fraîchement creusée en première ligne, le capitaine E. Pehlemann, originaire de Spandau, trouve un torque en bronze. Il ordonne une vérification qui aboutit à la mise au jour de vases et de squelettes. Il confie l’exploration de ce cimetière gaulois à un étudiant en sciences humaines engagé volontairement sous ses ordres, Hans Niggemann. Entre le 8 février et le 9 avril, 32 sépultures de la période celtique sont exhumées avec soin et méthode. Profitant de ses repos à l’arrière, le soldat Hans Niggemann rédige un carnet de fouilles minutieux et assure la collecte des objets. L’identification et la datation des vestiges sont remarquables pour l’époque. Le capitaine Pehlemann élabore à son tour un rapport qu’il transmet à sa hiérarchie dès la fin mars. En moins de 12 jours la totalité des objets et de la documentation sont transférés au Musée royal de Berlin. La collection, oubliée après l’Armistice, est dispersée par précaution pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Une partie à Moscou (restituée à Berlin-Est dans les années 1950) et le reste au Museum für Ur-und Frühgeschichte où elle est présentée aujourd’hui. Le reste de la nécropole, comptant environ 350 sépultures à l’origine, fait l’objet de fouilles préventives entre 1971 et 1994, suite à une importante destruction vers 1970.

Aller en haut

C

Châtelet-sur-Retourne
Une fouille archéologique a été réalisée en 2009 au lieu-dit « Au-dessus du Clos » en bordure est de la commune de Châtelet-sur-Retourne, situé au sud-ouest du département des Ardennes, à 28 km au nord-est de Reims. Cette opération menée par une équipe de l’Inrap, sous la direction de Yoann Rabasté, est intervenue dans le cadre de la création d’un lotissement sur une surface de 14 439 m². Elle a permis de mettre en évidence un ensemble de structures liées à la guerre de 1914-1918. Ces dernières correspondent à l’installation d’un camp d’aviation militaire allemand au bord de la commune utilisée comme base des lignes arrières. Ce camp est matérialisé par la présence de vestiges (fosses) liés à de grands édifices de type hangar. Ces constructions sont accompagnées d’un blockhaus et d’une soute à munitions qui ont livré un important mobilier militaire, notamment des pièces d’avions allemands, mais aussi de nombreux fragments de faune témoignant d’une activité de boucherie.

Aller en haut

D

DRASSM
Le Département des recherches archéologiques subaquatiques et sous-marines ( DRASSM ) a pour vocation d’assurer la gestion administrative et scientifique du patrimoine archéologique subaquatique et sous-marin de l’ensemble des eaux sous juridiction française, de l’Atlantique au Pacifique et de l’Indien à la Méditerranée, soit près de 11 millions de km². Compétent pour toutes les recherches archéologiques nécessitant le recours à la plongée, il est en charge de l’application du Code du Patrimoine en matière de biens culturels maritimes. On qualifie ainsi tout bien présentant un intérêt préhistorique, archéologique, historique ou artistique situé dans le domaine public maritime. Le DRASSM est basé sur la zone portuaire de l’Estaque, à Marseille.

Aller en haut

I

Inrap
L'Institut national de recherches archéologiques préventives (Inrap) est un établissement public à caractère administratif de recherche français créé par la loi du 17 janvier 2001 relative à l'archéologie préventive. Il s'est substitué à l'Association pour les fouilles archéologiques nationales (Afan), association loi 1901. Il est placé sous la tutelle conjointe des ministères chargés de la Culture et de la Recherche. En savoir plus : www.inrap.fr

Aller en haut

J

Joseph Déchelette
Archéologue français, né le 8 janvier 1862 à Roanne (Loire), mort pour la France le 4 octobre 1914 à Vingré (actuelle commune de Nouvron-Vingré, Aisne). Conservateur au musée des Beaux-Arts et d'Archéologie de Roanne, auteur d'un manuel d'archéologie en 6 tomes qui fit longtemps référence : Le Manuel d'archéologie préhistorique, celtique et gallo-romaine publié entre 1908 et 1914. En comparant les résultats des fouilles de Bibracte au Mont Beuvray, Manching en Bavière, Stradonice en Bohême et Velem-Zsent-Vid en Hongrie, il est le premier à mettre en évidence une unité culturelle au nord des Alpes à la fin de l'âge du fer. Âgé de 52 ans et donc dégagé des obligations militaires au début de la guerre, il s'engage volontairement et est nommé capitaine de réserve. Il monte au front sur l'Aisne avec le 298e régiment d'infanterie de Roanne à la fin du mois de septembre 1914. Le 4 octobre 1914, il est tué lors d'un attaque sur les hauteurs de Vingré.

Aller en haut

S

Semi-Dreadnought
Terme utilisé pour caractériser les premiers cuirassés dont on choisit, au tournant du XXe siècle, de réduire l’artillerie secondaire au profit de pièces de très gros calibre, 230 mm et plus. Les cuirassés de type Dreadnought tirent leur nom du HMS Dreadnought lancé à Portsmouth en 1906 et armé de dix canons de 305 mm.

Aller en haut

T

Troisième bataille d'Artois
Le 25 septembre 1915, les troupes françaises massées au nord d’Arras vont tenter une nouvelle fois de percer les lignes allemandes. L’effort principal porte sur le secteur localisé entre la colline de Vimy et la commune de Thélus. De la maîtrise de cette éminence qui domine le bassin minier de Lens dépend le bon déroulement de l’opération. Le 50e et le 126e Régiment de la 47e et 48e Brigade, de la 24e Division d’infanterie sont en charge du secteur devant Thélus, mais les différentes tentatives pour prendre ce village vont se solder par des échecs. Seules les deux premières lignes ennemies seront en partie gagnées. Le bilan humain, pour les journées des 26 et 27 septembre 1915, fait état respectivement de 139 tués, 370 blessés et 79 disparus pour le 50e R.I., et de 130 tués, 510 blessés et 135 disparus pour le 126e R.I.

Aller en haut